I am writer, read me roar!

So, I’m participating in this writing contest: ‘Writing Contest: You Are A Writer’ held by Positive Writer. I have to write about why I became a writer, when did I know that this is what I was meant to do? Funny thing, I actually get asked that quite a lot. Most people aren’t really satisfied with the answer they get though. I think they expect some huge, dramatic epiphany that completely rocked my world and changed the course of destiny forever!!!!

Sorry guys, not so much. I’ve always been a writer, ever since I learned how to form words and sentences. I’ve always had ideas for stories and characters swirling around in my mind. At first I just played them out with friends, playing pretend like most of us did. A lot of people grew out of it, but I never did. Only instead of acting them out, I played them in my mind and wrote them down, turning the different situations in my head like a Rubik’s cube: how would things change depending on what my characters said, what would happen if I put them in certain situations?

Sometimes a particular character comes out of the woodwork, and it’s like they’re telling the story, I’m just writing it down. Other times one will come forward with a piece of information that suddenly changes everything. Yes, my characters are fairly lifelike in my mind. Yes, I do realise I sound completely crazy. But hey, it works. And I prefer the title “Insane Eccentric”, thank you very much.

I love writing, I love creating stories and refining them, making them into beautiful masterpieces. I have several friends who are extremely talented at doing art, drawing, painting, and so on. I like to say that I paint pictures with words rather than brushes. Is it always a beautiful masterpiece? No, sometimes I do screw up, sometimes it’s just not that good. But practice makes perfect, and I learn from my mistakes.

But more than just writing the stories, I enjoy sharing them. I want others to read what I’ve written and I hope they enjoy it as much as I did, that maybe it brightens their day a little, or think of something in a way they hadn’t before. I’ve been inspired and had influenced by a lot of amazing writers, and I’d like to do the same for others. Writing is a powerful tool that can change the way people think, and I want to be a part of that.

I also can’t deny that I’ve been very privileged. Everyone I know has always supported me. My parents especially -with the addendum that I have to be able to provide a decent life for myself (completely reasonable)- , never ever told me that I was terrible, or that I should give up and do something else. They always encouraged me to follow my dreams, to never give up just because it might be hard to get started. The rest of my family has also been very encouraging, and helped where they could, either by giving advice on how to get published or on how I could improve my writing. My friends have always had my back, supporting it, standing behind it reading over my shoulder when they couldn’t pry my notebook away from me (you know who you are). Various teachers have also supported my efforts, like my grade five/six teacher patiently reading every little story I wrote, like some kids show their teachers pictures they drew.

Have I gotten published? Once, in a poetry anthology. It was really cool! I’m pretty sure the neighbours heard me yelling the news as I read the letter. Have I gotten rejected? Yes, once so far. I still need to get a frame for that letter… Because I don’t look at it as a defeat: I put myself out there, sent a story to an actual, real publisher, and they replied. Actually, even the rejection still encouraged me to keep trying, lol. But the point is: I got an actual letter from an actual publisher, which I think is pretty cool. And that’s all I really need to think of.

But, regardless of what anyone else thinks, I’m a writer. I always was, ever am, and forever will be. I write, therefore, I am.

I am a writer.

That’s really all you need to know.

Leave a Reply

