A New Year, A New… Something.

So, it seems that I’m terrible at keeping up with this.  But one of my goals is to post more consistently this year.  So my goal is to do two posts a week.  One will be about writing, author stuff, and the woes of trying to break into the writing world, and the other will be a book review wherein I review a book or series and tell you what I think, because I am as much a bookworm as I am a writer.  Feel free to suggest books in the comments, I’ll take a look.  I will say that I am on the pickier side about what I read, but I’ll give most things a fair shot, and I will try to look at a variety of genres (which, as a writer, is a good idea anyway).  However, it won’t all be super serious; I’ll do some that are more fun as well.  How that will look, I’m not entirely sure yet.  I also promise that I will not review my textbooks.

In other news: I have submitted a query to a publisher.  Basically a letter trying to sell them my soul with the first few chapters of my novel, and they’ll decide if they want to take a look at the whole thing or not.  That was back in early December, so I expect to hear back February/March-ish.  When they decide to skip the whole process and just sign me up and I’ll be an instant bestseller!  (I’m allowed to dream, okay?)  So that’s exciting, and gives me more incentive to finish editing, which I have made some progress on, though not as much as I would have liked since things got a little chaotic for a bit, but now I should have the time.

I’ll probably do a post about finding a publisher soon, because I found this really cool resource online that looks at most of the publishing houses in North America (and maybe some in England?  I have to double check on that) and lets you know if they’re good, ok, or if you should just stay away from them.  There are actually a lot of websites like that, and they’re not that hard to find, and could save you a lot of trouble down the road, and it cuts down on the amount of time looking for publishers and what not (I could go on for quite a bit, but I’ll save that for the post).  I have a few other ideas as well, but again, if you have anything in particular you want me to write about, just mention it in the comments and I’ll see what I can do.

On that note, I’ll try to get the first book review up in a few days, and because it’s the first one, I’ll make it my first favorite book: Black Beauty by Anna Sewell.  And it will be up either Sunday or Monday.  (Of this month, I swear)

Note to self: think of a cool sign off thing…

One thought on “A New Year, A New… Something.

  1. you should do a review on your very first book, “The Foot Book”, it is also the book that you have read the most times. xo

Leave a Reply

