New Writing Platforms

So I was recently introduced to something new called Wattpad.  Actually, I have no idea how new it really is, only that it’s new to me.  It’s pretty cool, you can post a story on a website -and you get to choose what rights you want to retain- for other users to read, or just go on and discover new authors.  It’s pretty user-friendly, and so far I like it, though I’ve only had an account for about a week.  Established writers can post an excerpt from their published works, or people can post full novels, or stories in installments, or just short stories.  It seems like a pretty good way to start building a fanbase, and to show that you have a marketable writing style.  In a market as competitive as writing, any little bit helps, right?

The only downside I’ve found -and I was forewarned- is that a number of the stories aren’t as polished as a published product.  This includes grammar errors, and I know people have varying abilities to ignore or tolerate them.  Admittedly mine is rather low, which can throw a wrench into reading otherwise interesting stories.  That aside, it’s worth looking at.  There’s also a mobile version, which is pretty handy.  It’s also completely free, which is even better.

My username is SOakley13 if anyone would care to check out my work.

Here’s the link: Wattpad

Leave a Reply

